- A culture magazine reaching terminal verbosity -


Mister Heavenly Returns with New LP and Tour, Listen to First Single "Beat Down"

Music News, New MusicWeston PaganoComment

6 long years after their "doom-wop" debut, supergroup Mister Heavenly has reared its three heads once again. Consisting of Honus Honus (Man Man), Nick Diamonds (The Unicorns, Islands), Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse, The Shins, Cold War Kids, Coromandelles), and at one point even Michael Cera as a touring member, the group has announced a forthcoming follow-up, Boxing the Moonlight, due out October 6 via Polyvinyl.

Lead single "Beat Down" explores the breaking point of restlessness conflicting with self-preservation as Diamond and Honus trade verses over a jaunty tune set to the crackling VHS of a classic bar brawl.

“I don’t know if it’s cliché or not these days to have an L.A. record, but this feels like an L.A. record,” Plummer explains in the press release. Coming off a Cold War Kids album cycle for L.A. Divine and after assisting with Honus' "apocalyptic L.A. pop” solo record last year, the SoCal identity seems more embedded in their sound than ever.

Check out the official lyrics video for "Beat Down" below, as well as dates for their North American tour and Boxing the Moonlight's album art and tracklist. You can also read our interview with Honus of Mister Heavenly here.

Boxing the Moonlight:

  1. Beat Down
  2. Blue Lines
  3. Makin’ Excuses
  4. Hammer Drop
  5. George’s Garden
  6. No Floor
  7. Magic Is Gone
  8. Pink Cloud Compression
  9. Crazy Love, Vol. III
  10. Dead Duck
  11. Out Of Time

Cold War Kids Announce 'L.A. Divine' LP, Drop New Single "Love Is Mystical"

Music News, New MusicWeston PaganoComment

Los Angeles-based rockers Cold War Kids have never been shy about their affinity for their city, and now they'll have a whole album to prove it. The band's 6th record L.A. Divine is due out April 7 (an already crowded date that also includes Father John Misty and Future Islands releases), their first on Capitol Records.

The announcement comes with soulful lead single "Love Is Mystical," a floral love anthem complete with a Phillip Lopez-directed visual shot in, where else, downtown LA. Featuring kissing couples of all kinds set to a strong piano drive, the track is well-timed for a Valentine's Day in relatively dark times.

See the single artwork, tour dates, and listen below.

Local Natives Return to the Present With New Single "Past Lives"

New MusicWeston PaganoComment

"Save me from the prime of my life," Local Natives plead at the start of their first track in three years, gliding into their signature vocal harmonies before mounting percussion crescendos in some tight glimpses of guitar.

The LA favorites' new single "Past Lives" is officially released today, though it's been performed live in the past and even appeared in Will Arnett's Flaked. In a press release vocalist and bassist Taylor Rice says of the song,

The world is not static, it’s made new over and over again. But we tend to live the same patterns in a loop, loving the same way, wrestling the same demons, the same dynamics playing out around us again and again. Untangling every moment and decision that led us to where we are now can make fate feel concrete, inescapable. But our world is not fixed, it’s constantly reemerging, and we can change it into whatever we want.

It's the newest and most convincing of a recent string of hints pointing towards a new LP on the way following a revamped website and a few scheduled summer shows including Lollapalooza; we'll probably be seeing a lot more of "Past Lives" in the future.