- A culture magazine reaching terminal verbosity -

alt-J Announces New Album 'RELAXER,' Drops "3WW" Single and Music Video, Tour Dates

Music News, New MusicWeston PaganoComment

Three years after releasing their sophomore record This Is All Yoursalt-J have returned, with a forthcoming release titled RELAXER due out June 9 via Canvasback. The announcement is accompanied by lead single "3WW" as well as cover art, tracklisting, and international tour dates, all of which you can find below.

"3WW"'s soft acoustic tones and long intro result in what is a relatively gentle and straightforward single by alt-J standards, and whereas last cycle saw the band joined by an off-the-wall Miley Cyrus sample on "Hunger of the Pine," the Ellie Rowsell (Wolf Alice) feature here makes more sense, seamlessly adding subtle dynamism and harmony to the understated track. The accompanying visual depicts a glitchy medley of scenes from the bizarre Playstation game LSD: Dream Emulator, from which the LP's art direction appears to also be derived.

In addition to drummer Thom Green's 2016 solo release High Anxiety, a statement from the band notes during their break "Gus [Unger-Hamilton] opened a restaurant; Joe [Newman] has been watching a lot of films."

Listen below.


  1. 3WW 
  2. In Cold Blood 
  3. House of the Rising Sun 
  4. Hit Me Like That Snare 
  5. Deadcrush 
  6. Adeline 
  7. Last Year 
  8. Pleader